D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Archive for July 2015

UMM coach accepts D II position

Former University of Minnesota Morris head coach Chad Braegelmann will coach St. Cloud State University, an NCAA Division II institution, in 2015. Braegelmann replaces former College of Saint Benedict coach Michelle Blaeser, who had coached SCSU since 2010 before being placed on paid leave in October and stepping down in April.

Braegelmann’s hire by SCSU was announced on July 6. Current UW-Stevens Point head coach Abbey Sutherland was also one of the three finalists for the SCSU position. UMM, which has begun its search, expects to name a new head coach in early August.

As far as I know, UMM and Blackburn are the only Central or Midwest Region teams that have not named new head coaches for the 2015 season.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

July 21, 2015 at 2:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

NWU to join IIAC, become exclusive member of D III in 2016-17

Nebraska Wesleyan University will shed its unique distinction as the only dual member of the NAIA and the NCAA Division III, joining the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference for the 2016-17 academic year. The agreement was forged on July 13 and announced this afternoon.

NWU will now have the distinction of becoming the only IIAC institution not located in Iowa. The IIAC will expand to nine institutions with the addition of NWU.

NWU will become an exclusive member of the D III effective July 1, 2016.

[Thank you to a reader for the tip]
-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

July 20, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Ricky Nelson’s 2015 preseason top 25

This is my second year posting a preseason top 25. Once the season gets underway, I’ll post my weekly top 10.

Some of my preseason polls have been better than others, but my preseason rankings tend to be different from the AVCA poll. See my preseason polls from 20142013, 2012, 2011.

  1. Calvin
  2. Cal Lutheran
  3. Emory
  4. Washington-St. Louis
  5. Wittenberg
  6. Hope
  7. Colorado College
  8. Christopher Newport
  9. Wisconsin-Stevens Point
  10. Carthage
  11. Clarkson
  12. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  13. Juniata
  14. DePauw
  15. Eastern
  16. Mary Hardin-Baylor
  17. Augsburg
  18. Hendrix
  19. Wisconsin-Oshkosh
  20. Whitworth
  21. John Carroll
  22. Southwestern
  23. La Verne
  24. Williams
  25. Dominican

Another very solid 10 teams (alphabetical order): Bethany; Bluffton; Bowdoin; Carnegie Mellon; Chicago; Randolph-Macon; Stockton; UMass Boston; Washington & Lee; Wisconsin-Whitewater.

I like several other teams in the preseason, but lists have to end somewhere. Tell me where I’m wrong.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

July 6, 2015 at 7:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

%d bloggers like this: