D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s 2012 preseason top 10

The AVCA preseason poll is scheduled for release on Aug. 15. Like always, there are teams I’d like to add in the “Next 20.” Tell me where I went wrong.

1. Wittenberg
2. Washington-St. Louis
3. Cal Lutheran
4. Christopher Newport
5. Chicago
6. Hope
7. Emory
8. Calvin
9. Elmhurst
10. St. Thomas
The next 20 (in no particular order): Juniata, Heidelberg, UW-Stevens Point, Wartburg, Pacific Lutheran, UW-Whitewater, Colorado College, St. Scholastica, Otterbein, Occidental, Cortland St., Salisbury, Cornell, Carthage, Eastern, Dominican, UMass Boston, St. Norbert, UW-Eau Claire, Geneva.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

July 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elmhurst will end up being VERY high, they can make the run Carthage made this year. Chicago, not as strong, doubt top 25

    Anonymous

    July 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm

  2. Thanks! I really like UC’s setter, middles and defense. UC will miss Smalls and Belak at the pins, but I have a hunch. I think they’re Top 25 for sure. My eyes have been telling me for years that they’re good. Is this the year they win some big ones? We’ll see.

    I’m all-in on Elmhurst too. My preseason rank is conservative. I also like CLU and Hope quite a bit.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    July 29, 2012 at 8:13 pm

  3. You do an amazing job with this blog! Appreciate the information you give. Some new teams in your next 20, would be nice to see some of those teams get the attention they deserve. I know if a few of those teams make the top 25 it would be a first for the program.

    Anonymous

    July 30, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  4. For the record, I think Wash U is the best team in the preseason. Wittenberg is a top 10 team, but the Tigers have a few more question marks than the Bears. Witt gets the honorary nod in the preseason though. And they’ll keep it until – or if – they lose.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    July 31, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  5. […] My preseason top 30 (AVCA preseason rank). 1 (5). Wittenberg 2 (2). Washington-St. Louis 3 (6). Cal Lutheran 4 (1). Christopher Newport 5 (15). Chicago 6 (8). Hope 7 (4). Emory 8 (3). Calvin 9 (11). Elmhurst 10 (7). St. Thomas The next 20 (in no particular order): Juniata (10), Heidelberg (21), UW-Stevens Point (28), Wartburg (27), Pacific Lutheran (25), UW-Whitewater (17), Colorado College (14), St. Scholastica (46), Otterbein (26), Occidental (23), Cortland St. (13), Salisbury (NR), Cornell (30), Carthage (12), Eastern (9), Dominican (43), UMass Boston (16), St. Norbert (NR), UW-Eau Claire (37), Geneva (NR). […]

  6. […] top 25 clashes, but not many surprises during the first weekend. Not much has changed since my preseason top 10. The Week 1 AVCA poll comes out […]

  7. […] teams that were in my preseason top 30 – Salisbury, St. Norbert – have already received recognition after not appearing in the […]

  8. […] in there despite Chicago’s impressive weekend. I don’t think there were too many others as high on Chicago as I was (am) this season, so it’s not that I don’t respect the Maroons. I do. Very […]


Comments are closed.

