D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s 2015 preseason top 25

This is my second year posting a preseason top 25. Once the season gets underway, I’ll post my weekly top 10.

Some of my preseason polls have been better than others, but my preseason rankings tend to be different from the AVCA poll. See my preseason polls from 20142013, 2012, 2011.

  1. Calvin
  2. Cal Lutheran
  3. Emory
  4. Washington-St. Louis
  5. Wittenberg
  6. Hope
  7. Colorado College
  8. Christopher Newport
  9. Wisconsin-Stevens Point
  10. Carthage
  11. Clarkson
  12. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  13. Juniata
  14. DePauw
  15. Eastern
  16. Mary Hardin-Baylor
  17. Augsburg
  18. Hendrix
  19. Wisconsin-Oshkosh
  20. Whitworth
  21. John Carroll
  22. Southwestern
  23. La Verne
  24. Williams
  25. Dominican

Another very solid 10 teams (alphabetical order): Bethany; Bluffton; Bowdoin; Carnegie Mellon; Chicago; Randolph-Macon; Stockton; UMass Boston; Washington & Lee; Wisconsin-Whitewater.

I like several other teams in the preseason, but lists have to end somewhere. Tell me where I’m wrong.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

July 6, 2015 at 7:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My first thought is that this list will be so much better than the AVCA poll. My second thought is to worry if Ricky knows how good everyone’s freshmen class will be…you always have the scoop!

    Love seeing 7 West Region teams in the Top 25. Thanks for the love. You basically have the west ranked as:

    1) Cal Lu
    2) CC
    3) CMS
    4) UMHB
    5) Whitworth
    6) SU
    7) LaVerne

    I probably would go:

    1) CMS
    2) Cal Lu
    3) CC
    4) SU
    5) UMHB
    6) LaVerne
    7) Whitworth

    Outside looking in for the west would be (in no particular order) Santa Cruz, Trinity, Pac Lu, UTD and ETBU. I think the ranked 7 with the addition of Santa Cruz will be the 8 teams to fill out the West Bracket come NCAA time.

    As posted by you before, choosing between CMS and Cal Lu is pretty pointless (as both are really good) but I do believe they will be the class of the west this year. I think CC will receive much deserved national recognition but their games with SU will be very competitive and I will not be surprised if these teams share the SCAC title this year (or if SU wins it but is still ranked below CC). As a strong proponent of UMHB these last two years, they could be the 3rd best team out of the west this year and I struggle with listing them 5th. LaVerne should repeat their success of last year but I do think they are a notch below the 5 I have ranked ahead of them. As for Whitworth, I struggle with the Northwest Conference and their level of play. My bias from seeing those teams play last year have filtered into my order but it should be noted that Whitworth did not have a graduating senior.

    Trinity is just losing too much talent. Same story (to a lesser extent) with Pac Lu and Santa Cruz. Always like watching UTD and ETBU but they need to show something early in the season before they get more consideration.

    More generally, of your top 6 picks a few of these teams are losing quite a number of good players. Hope, like Trinity, are losing the bulk of their starters so I probably would have Hope down in the mid teens (which makes me think you know something here). Calvin and Emory also have some significant losses but I guess the thinking is they have players ready to step in. I actually like Wash-St. Louis and Wittenberg to lead the rankings. I’d probably find a home for CMS in the top 10, too. Probably Clarkson, too…but 11 is a nice spot, as well. The mighty Titans sitting at #19 seems a little low to me, too. All of the hitters and setters coming back to this squad, I believe. I’d probably find a Top 25 home for Chicago and UMass Boston. Just guess work on my part…just hoping each of these teams stay healthy and performs to the best of their abilities!

    DIIIFan

    July 6, 2015 at 1:08 pm

  2. […] part of my yearly preseason top 25 (plus 10 others) posted in early July, my top 10 was: Calvin; Cal Lutheran; Emory; Washington-St. Louis; […]


Comments are closed.

