D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

2017 AVCA All-Region Teams released

The AVCA published its 2017 All-Region Teams.

Central Region First Team
Karrah Davis, Dubuque senior outside
Marissa Ekness, Minnesota Morris senior outside
Kate Holtan, Gustavus Adolphus outside
Nora Holtan, Gustavus Adolphus junior setter
Aryn Jones, Wartburg senior middle
Taylor Linn, Augsburg senior middle
Whitney Lloyd, St. Thomas senior middle
Julianne Malek, Washington-St. Louis junior middle
Leesa Malone, Northwestern senior setter
Megan Pekarek, Saint Benedict senior setter
Lindsey Peterson, Northwestern senior outside
Katie Reitsma, Minnesota Morris senior libero
Kristin Stern, Bethel senior middle
Ifeoma Ufondu, Washington-St. Louis junior outside
Central Region Player of the Year: Lindsey Peterson
Central Region Freshman of the Year: Kate Holtan
Central Region Coach of the Year: St. Thomas’ Thanh Pham

Midwest Region First Team
Megan Behrendt, Carthage sophomore outside
Tyler Brown, Illinois Wesleyan junior outside
Kaily Erdman, Concordia Wisconsin senior outside
Alora Goodey, Millikin senior opposite
Emily Mihalkanin, Millikin senior setter
Madelyn Pashibin, Wisconsin-Eau Claire junior outside
Sydney Racky, Wisconsin-Whitewater senior opposite
Brittany Robinson, Wisconsin-Whitewater junior libero
Jillian Schulte, Cornell junior setter
Erin Syversen, Millikin senior outside
Katie Vondra, Aurora junior outside
Courtney Wagner, Wisconsin-Whitewater senior middle
Maddie Williams, Illinois Wesleyan junior middle
Julia Wood, Aurora freshman libero
Midwest Region Player of the Year: Erin Syversen
Midwest Region Freshman of the Year: Julia Wood
Midwest Region Coach of the Year: Concordia Wisconsin’s Janelle Katz

Great Lakes Region Player of the Year: Anna Kamp, Calvin junior outside
Great Lakes Region Freshman of the Year: Katie Wade, Ohio Northern setter
Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year: Otterbein’s Monica Wright

Mid-Atlantic Region Player of the Year: Annika Schwartz, Stevenson senior outside
Mid-Atlantic Region Freshman of the Year: Steph Judkins, Cabrini outside
Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year: Stevenson’s Dave Trumbo

New England Region Player of the Year: Kate Walker, Johnson & Wales (R.I.) sophomore middle
New England Region Freshman of the Year: Andie Maloney, MIT setter
New England Region Coach of the Year: Johnson & Wales (R.I.)’s Nancy Somera

New York Region Player of the Year: Devan Gallagher, Vassar junior outside
New York Region Freshman of the Year:  Reagan Stone, Ithaca opposite
New York Region Coach of the Year: Clarkson’s Carol LaMarche

North Region Player of the Year: Marybeth Weihbrecht, Juniata junior middle
North Region Freshman of the Year: Natalie Aston, Johns Hopkins setter/opposite
North Region Coach of the Year: Carnegie Mellon’s Kim Kelly

Northeast Region Player of the Year: Lisa Sheldon, Bowdoin junior libero
Northeast Region Freshman of the Year: Kate Kiser, Bowdoin setter
Northeast Region Coach of the Year: Tufts’ Cora Thompson

South Region Player of the Year: Sara Carr, Emory sophomore outside
South Region Freshman of the Year: Destiny Stewart, Sewanee outside
South Region Coach of the Year: Berry’s Caitlyn Moriarty

West Region Player of the Year: Margaux Arntson, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps senior opposite
West Region Freshman of the Year: Corinne Novak, Mary Hardin-Baylor outside
West Region Coach of the Year: Colorado College’s Rick Swan

-Ricky Nelson [not an AVCA member, ineligible for awards]

Written by Ricky Nelson

November 9, 2017 at 12:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The two-time WIAC Player of the Year was not good enough for even an All-Region honorable mention selection? Huh … OK.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 9, 2017 at 9:59 am

  2. Her coach may not have voted…. Makes her ineligible correct? Sad if that’s why….


    November 10, 2017 at 9:09 pm

  3. Anon @ 9:09 pm,
    Yes, a coach failing to vote would make a team’s nominated players ineligible for an award.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 10, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: