D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

11/5/16: Concordia Wisconsin, Greenville, Gustavus, Millikin, Northwestern, St. Norbert, UW-Whitewater, Wartburg clinch NCAA berths

Link it up below and on the Conference Tourneys page.

WIAC Final
#11 UW-Whitewater 3, #13 UW-La Crosse 1 UWW’s Pfeifer had 16 kills, 11 digs.

UAA Third-Place
#14 Washington-St. Louis 3, Chicago 1 WUSTL’s Dupont had 16 kills.
UAA Final
#8 Emory 3, #21 Carnegie Mellon 0 EU’s Holler had 12 kills.

CCIW Final
Millikin 3, #18 Elmhurst 0 MU’s E. Syversen had 18 kills, 10 digs.

MIAC Final
Gustavus Adolphus 3, Bethel 1 GAC’s Hanson had 18 kills.

IIAC Final
Wartburg 3, Coe 1 WC’s Blough had 15 kills.

NACC Final
Concordia Wisconsin 3, Aurora 1 CUW’s Moegenburg had 18 kills, 12 digs, 5 blocks.

UMAC Final
#22 Northwestern 3, Minnesota Morris 0 UNW’s Gonder had 17 kills.

MWC Final
St. Norbert 3, Cornell 2 SNC’s Ferry had 19 kills, 10 digs.

SLIAC Semis
Greenville 3, Webster 1 GC’s Sells had 14 kills.
Westminster 3, Spalding 2 WC’s Marshall had 20 kills, 13 digs.
SLIAC Final
Greenville 3, Westminster 0 GC’s Ruffner hit 12-0-18.

NCCAA D II Regional Final
Maranatha Baptist 3, Providence (Canada) 2 MBU’s Renz had 27 kills, 13 digs.

Top 25 upset watch
#10 Hope 3, #1 Calvin 2
#2 Cal Lutheran 3, #4 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 0
#3 Texas Dallas 3, East Texas Baptist 0
#3 Texas Dallas 3, Mary Hardin-Baylor 0
#3 Texas Dallas 3, Mary Hardin-Baylor 2
#16 Trinity (Texas) 3, #5 Southwestern 1
#6 Colorado College 3, Austin 0
#7 Wittenberg 3, Ohio Wesleyan 1
#7 Wittenberg 3, DePauw 0
#9 Juniata 3, Susquehanna 0
#12 Eastern 3, DeSales 0
#15 Mary Washington 3, #24 Christopher Newport 0
#23 Ohio Northern 3, Heidelberg 2
#25 Hendrix 3, Centre 0

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

November 5, 2016 at 12:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Ricky. Great job as always. Any update on the Pool B bid that is going to waste?

    I just did a quick upset review in the ranked leagues and form is pretty much holding in the early rounds with the exception of the MIAC and ASC. A Bethel win will force another pool C bid to the central. Why does the ASC use a softball format? I guess it is a good thing as it gives UT-D a do over, but 3 matches in one day?

    I look at as pure numbers for the most part, they say there is no allocation but history is history. If you take the NCAA rankings and use the AVCA poll as a guide, I see 17 bids fall out pretty easily. CE 3, GL 3, MA 2, MW 4, NE 0, NY 0, SO 0, WE 5). I’m sure DIIIFan will like the 5 and tell me why it should be 6 :)!

    I do not think it will be a good year for NE/NY, or the south, although I think the MIT/Springfield loser will get the only pool C bid for those regions. Last 2 to Millikin? Chicago?

    NED3VballFan

    November 5, 2016 at 7:54 am

  2. NED3VballFan – Wow, thanks for doing a review of the tournaments. You are way ahead of me.

    Assuming UTD wins the ASC, I’ll be very happy with 5 Pool C bids. I really don’t see a deserving 6th team. If UMHB forces their way in then it’s either 6 bids or a team like La Verne or Colorado College sitting on the outside. Shades of 2014 when an upset in the NW conference forced SU out.

    UMHB win also means either UTD or Southwestern host.

    DIIIFan

    November 5, 2016 at 9:34 am

  3. I wish I had a grasp of the bid process like either of you do . It’s my last year or who knows maybe I’ll become an eternal Fan like the two of you. I said it elsewhere I would just like to the the West region teams get seeded so they can get broken up and hopefully meet up during the round of eight. Who knows though…Last year quite a few favorites got weeded out in the early rounds.

    At this point I figured Laverne was pretty much done even without an upset like UMHB or is there still hope? Obviously there are guidelines I guess I should have learned before coming to this point. I find it hard now seeing this is probably my last year. Who knows I am loving this more and more and maybe I may just become and eternal DII fan like you all. Thanks for the insights.

    D3 dad

    November 5, 2016 at 10:10 am

  4. Okay make that DIII fan like you all.

    D3 dad

    November 5, 2016 at 10:11 am

  5. NED3VballFan,
    I have not heard the final verdict on Pool B. My sense is that there will be 21 Pool C bids, but my “sense” has been wrong before.

    I will bathe in the numbers and results very late tonight. You’re way ahead of me in terms of Pool C. I definitely have a rough idea, but the drill-down continues after Saturday’s results are final. I try to mimic the process as much as possible by reranking the regions, so it takes me awhile.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 5, 2016 at 11:45 am

  6. D3 dad,
    You and everyone else could take a crash course on the selections process/recent history this weekend. It’s not too late. I’ve been projecting a field since 2008, so those posts and the FAQ page would probably be helpful tools.


    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 5, 2016 at 11:52 am

  7. D3 Dad,

    LA Verne has a lot of hope. You should be rooting for UTD today to increase said hope.

    All things equal, LA Verne is in. The problem is the NCAA travel budget. It shouldn’t impact selection but who is to say.

    DIIIFan

    November 5, 2016 at 12:57 pm

  8. What cciw teams have a chance of clinching an at larger bid?

    Anonymous

    November 5, 2016 at 4:13 pm

  9. Anon @ 4:13,
    I’ll sit down with it tonight, but I don’t see anyone but Elmhurst or Illinois Wesleyan getting Pool C’s out of the CCIW.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 5, 2016 at 5:26 pm

  10. Ricky,

    I think Elmhurst will definitely receive a bid, but I fail to see the case for Illinois Wesleyan. They seem to have digressed as the seasons progressed. What wins do they have that make the case that they are a tournament-quality team?

    Anonymous

    November 5, 2016 at 6:35 pm

  11. Anon @ 6:35,
    You may be correct that IWU does not get a bid. Wins over WUSTL, Elmhurst Ohio Wesleyan and Chicago are good though. I’m not close to a projection yet, but I would not close the book on IWU’s season just yet.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 5, 2016 at 7:00 pm

  12. D3 Dad,

    The problem for the West is that they have to fly just to play in region, with 4 “sub regions”, if you will, all well more than 500 miles apart; Northwest, SoCal, Texas, and lonely little Colorado College in a region of it’s own.
    use this link to get a feel for it: http://web1.ncaa.org/maps/memberMap.jsp

    the problem (cost) becomes double if they fly a west region team out, that means another team has to fly in.

    NED3VballFan

    November 5, 2016 at 8:05 pm


Comments are closed.

