D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

11/2/16: Greenville secures SLIAC title; CUBS WIN!!!

UMAC Semis
#22 Northwestern 3, Martin Luther 0 UNW’s Peterson had 18 kills.
Minnesota Morris 3, St. Scholastica 0 UMM’s Ekness had 13 kills, 10 digs.

SLIAC Regular Season
Greenville 3, Westminster 2 GC’s Mitchell had 14 kills, 11 digs.
Webster 3, MacMurray 0 WU outhit MC, .418 to .022.
Fontbonne 3, Iowa Wesleyan 1 FU’s McDonough had 20 kills, 18 digs.

Top 25 upset watch
#9 Juniata 3, Scranton 0
#12 Eastern 3, FDU-Florham 0

Chicago Cubs 8, Cleveland Baseball Club 7 (10) Eyes welled, heart full.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

November 2, 2016 at 12:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If there are any AVCA award voters looking for a match to watch on this relatively slow night, I’d suggest #22 UNW vs. MLC. There will be an All-America First Team OH wearing #1 for the team in purple and white. Another option would be to count the number of quicks Juniata hammers inside the 10-foot line, but I recommend the former.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 2, 2016 at 1:13 am

  2. This whole Cubs – Indians game 7 has me confused. I really don’t care about the Indians and I think the entire nation (outside Cleveland) loves the Cubs but we love the Cubs because they always lose. The Cubs were the best team in baseball this year by a wide margin so in my mind they are no longer the lovable underdog. Just something poetic if the Cubs were to lose tonight, I guess. Agree Ricky? What’s one World Series championship against 100 years of love? I think you need to be looking at the bigger picture.

    DIIIFan

    November 2, 2016 at 9:52 am

  3. DIIIFan,
    I’m a writer, not a poet. Go Cubs!
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 2, 2016 at 11:10 am

  4. Yes ricky by all means lets all watch northwestern take on the vaunted 11-21 martin luther college volleyball juggernaut which would surely test the merits of a first team all-american hitter.

    Anonymous

    November 2, 2016 at 1:27 pm

  5. Anon @ 1:27,
    What other match would you prefer to watch tonight? I think the player in question is an All-American regardless of who she plays. Tonight isn’t a “test” of that thought. I think you read more into my comment than the words that were written.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 2, 2016 at 3:38 pm

  6. Do you know if conference tournament stats count in NCAA season leaders? Or do they only take regular season?

    Anonymous

    November 2, 2016 at 11:36 pm

  7. Congrats Ricky.

    DIIIFan

    November 2, 2016 at 11:50 pm

  8. Anon @ 11:36,
    NCAA stat leaders take into account all postseason matches.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 3, 2016 at 12:25 am

  9. DIIIFan,
    Thank you, and high-5s and hugs to Cubs fans everywhere. It took me about 30 minutes to get my collective stuff together. The Cubs run deep in my life story. I’m glad I was alive to experience this year.

    Now back to volleyball with a huge smile on my face.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 3, 2016 at 12:41 am


Comments are closed.

