D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

10/6/16: Bethel levels MIAC record at 3-3

MIAC
Bethel 3, Concordia 1 BU’s Sinclair had 19 kills, 10 digs.

SLIAC
Greenville 3, Blackburn 0 GC’s Mitchell had 13 kills, 12 digs.
Iowa Wesleyan 3, MacMurray 0 IWU’s Schwamborn had 11 kills, 13 digs.

Nonconference
Carroll 3, Marian 0 CU had 11 aces.

Top 25 upset watch
#7 Cal Lutheran 3, Caltech 0

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

October 6, 2016 at 12:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Completely random but are there any players in division 3 that can really hit the pipe set?

    Anonymous

    October 6, 2016 at 10:23 am

  2. Not as a consistent weapon, but I’ve seen good ones from time to time. Perhaps others can chime in.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    October 6, 2016 at 11:18 am

  3. I guess I would need a definition on “can really hit the pipe set”. A number of teams I’ve watched this season will run an attack from the back row (both from the middle and right side). A number of these because they are out-of-system but an equal number where it’s a planned attack.

    I remember watching a CC game on video thinking Abbe Holtze was getting better swings on the pipe than outside (front row). I haven’t seen enough of CLU this year to know how they are using Michelle Lawrence back row but she can put it down from anywhere.

    I haven’t seen a team that uses it as a consistent threat and maybe that was the meaning of the question.

    DIIIFan

    October 6, 2016 at 12:27 pm

  4. The reason for the question was i find the pipe set one of the most exciting attacks in volleyball and i recall last year Samantha Bricio of usc hitting the pipe about as well as anyone i’ve ever seen. I realize that players for the most part are shorter in division 3 but have serious vertical and wanted to know if there are any players that can consistently hit behind the 10 foot line as part of a team’s regular game plan or even teams that consistently use it and not rely on one individual.

    Anonymous

    October 6, 2016 at 1:02 pm

  5. DIII Fan, why does it strike me that you deliberately try to be a dumbass. Anonymous asked a simple question and you need a definition of what he or she meant by “can really hit the pipe set”?

    Anonymous

    October 6, 2016 at 8:41 pm

  6. That is not the preferred nomenclature.
    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    October 6, 2016 at 8:54 pm

  7. Ouch. I’m consistently a dumbass but never deliberately. My apologies.

    DIIIFan

    October 6, 2016 at 10:23 pm

  8. First of all Ricky thank you, for your time and unwavering support of division 3 women’s athletics… selfishly i wish you didn’t align yourself with a d 3 perennial power as I enjoyed and looked forward to your unabridged opinions on d3 volleyball. On the same note I still enjoy seeing your responses and quips to the ever changing world of women’s d 3 volleyball. Thank you for keeping me interested, informed and intrigued.. as for the occasional haters…….LOCK IT UP!!!!! This is a great site that encourages the visibilty of this sport at a level which is commonly overlooked

    Anonymous

    October 7, 2016 at 1:36 am

  9. Thank you for the kind note.

    I sometimes miss the more free-wheeling days, but not often. Not sure why I decided to put my name on this thing. It’s certainly not my style, and “Ricky Nelson” doesn’t make it easier to find the blog (I once wrote a piece about my name and other names when I was the national columnist at D3baseball.com in my underemployment days).

    I get to see my fair share of volleyball both in person and online. Rest assured the opinions are still there.

    Then again but I’m just another knucklehead with an Internet connection. Who cares what I think?, he asked rhetorically. An aggregate site can have value in niche spaces.

    The written opinions are fewer now, but I think the blog’s information, in a comprehensive-data sense, is better. If I didn’t write thousands of words across all sports nearly every day for my pretty-darn-good-at-volleyball alma mater, perhaps (perhaps!) there would be even more opinion and information to go around.

    I think I still state my opinions. My top 10s, predicted conference winners, predicted tourney fields and very occasional commentary regarding my perceived injustices remain examples of that.

    If you want a recent match-specific, spicy meatball of a hot take, I thought UW-La Crosse played pretty well offensively at home on Wednesday. Bonus meatball: On Thursday, Caltech wasn’t the best passing team I ever saw (while viewing during commercial breaks of the ALDS).

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    October 7, 2016 at 4:08 am


Comments are closed.

