D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Central, Midwest players make cut for NCAA Woman of the Year

Several Division III volleyball players from the Central and Midwest regions have been nominated by conferences for the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

Kelly Foley, St. Thomas
Jenny Howard, Webster
Olivia Krejcarek, St. Scholastica
Alyssa Stanek, Nebraska Wesleyan
Bailey Wilson, Wartburg

A record 480 student-athletes across all three NCAA divisions were nominated by their schools for 2015 Woman of the Year consideration. Conferences and independent schools narrowed the list to its current 147 nominees – another record – in July. The Woman of the Year selection committee will name 10 finalists from each of the three divisions in early September. The selection committee will then choose and announce the nine finalists (three from each division) at the end of September. The top 30 will be honored and the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year will be named at the annual ceremony in Indianapolis on October 18.

Of the 147 conference nominees, 57 are from Division I institutions, 39 are from D II and 51 are from D III.

Now in its 25th year, the NCAA Woman of the Year Award recognizes graduating female student-athletes for excellence in academics, athletics, community service and leadership.

-Ricky Nelson


Written by Ricky Nelson

August 1, 2015 at 10:34 am

Posted in Uncategorized

%d bloggers like this: