D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Calvin’s Maggie Kamp named AVCA National Player of the Year

Calvin junior outside Maggie Kamp is the AVCA’s 2014 Division III National Player of the Year.

Kamp became the fourth straight Calvin player and third Kamp sister to earn the award, joining Rebecca (2011) and Lizzie (2012). Current Knights assistant coach Megan Rietema was named Player of the Year last season.

AVCA Player of the Year release

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

November 20, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. a dominant player at this level, wondering if she shouldn’t be playing in division 1. certainly has the size. its a mismatch on just about every swing she takes.

    Anonymous

    November 20, 2014 at 9:33 pm

  2. I’m sure there are a handful of D III women who could plat D I ball if they wanted to. There’s more to life that a 4-year D I volleyball career…and if you read the story below, I think you’ll see why some young and talent athletes choose the D III option

    http://www.ncaa.com/news/volleyball-women/article/2014-11-19/top-ranked-calvin-headliner-tournaments-quarterfinal-round

    Anonymous

    November 20, 2014 at 9:52 pm

  3. I have not seen Maggie Kamp play as often as some others — probably 15-18 matches in three years — but my favorite part of her game is her competitiveness.

    Talented for sure, but it’s her drive that pushes her slightly above most of her peers. I almost enjoy watching her struggle a bit and respond more than watching her roll through a match.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 20, 2014 at 10:14 pm

  4. Separate thread…what are your thoughts about this year’s finals?

    I think it goes chalk all the way tomorrow! I like Emory, WSP, and Hope to win in straight sets. Calvin over CNU in 4.

    Semis: Emory in 4, Hope in 4

    Finals: Emory in 5

    Anonymous

    November 20, 2014 at 10:24 pm

  5. I also like the higher ranked teams tomorrow.

    I think the winner of a presumptuous UWSP/Emory semifinal match will take the title. I go back and forth on that one. I picked Emory to win in the preseason. I picked Emory to win once the field was announced. But if Loos is back, I’m not sure Emory beats UWSP.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 20, 2014 at 10:33 pm

  6. You aren’t very high on the MIAA are you? You didn’t have either school getting to Newport News

    Anonymous

    November 20, 2014 at 10:38 pm

  7. Nothing to do with the MIAA and everything to do with me not knowing what I’m talking about.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 20, 2014 at 10:42 pm

  8. Uh huh….you run a kick arse blog like this…and then you claim not to know anything. I’m not buying that for a second!! LOL

    Anonymous

    November 20, 2014 at 10:51 pm

  9. Well, one reason my MIAA picks were incorrect is I selected a minor upset in the first round. The other went five with a Witt team that I thought was playing better than Hope at the end of the year.

    As far as the other picks, no matter the sport, I tend to get creative when filling out brackets. It rarely works out for me.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    November 20, 2014 at 10:58 pm


Comments are closed.

