D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

We get a Pre-Championship Manual after all

The 2014 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Pre-Championship Manual was released this week. It’s the primary source of info if you want to delve into the who’s, what’s, where’s and when’s of the championship. Here are the highlights.

Bid Breakdown
• 44 Pool A, 0 Pool B, 20 Pool c.

Important Dates
• Regional rankings published on 10/23, 10/30, 11/6.
• Online selection show on 11/10 at 11 a.m. eastern.
• Regionals 11/14-16 (regionals with institutions that do not play on Sundays will run 11/13-15).
• Final tournament on 11/21-23.

National Selection Committee Changes
• Maria Eftink (Fontbonne AD) is the national chair.
• Mika Robinson (Berry HC) is the chair of the South Region.
• Marie Stroman (MAC AED) is the chair of the Mid-Atlantic Region.
• Don Perkins (Kean HC) is the chair of the New York Region.

Regional Advisory Committee Newcomers
• Central: Rebecca Cox (Martin Luther HC); Jenna Ness (Loras HC).
• Great Lakes: Lynsey Whisner (Denison HC); Kate Witte (Ohio Northern HC).
• Mid-Atlantic: Stroman; Mark Birtwistle (Eastern HC); Iain Bradbury (Merchant Marine HC); Orlin Jespersen (Cabrini AAD); Matt Troy (Mary Washington HC); Dave Trumbo (Stevenson HC).
• Midwest: Stacy Boudreau (UW-Whitewater HC); Debbie Kiick (Millikin HC); Jeff Meeker (Cornell HC); Paul Schlomer (Edgewood HC).
• New England: Mickey Cahoon (Clark HC); Samantha Shomo (Anna Maria HC).
• New York: Perkins; Danielle De Stefano (Maritime St. HC); Shelly Roiger (St. Lawrence HC); Fred Wallace (Morrisville St. HC).
• South: Joeleen Akin (Agnes Scott AD); Erin Albert (Bridgewater (Va.) HC); James Neyhouse (Centre HC).
• West: Sabrina Bingham (Hardin-Simmons HC); Ed Garza (Austin HC).

Other Changes
• Illinois Tech’s and Alfred St.’s full member year changed from 2017-18 to 2018-19.
• Sarah Lawrence’s and SUNY Canton’s full member year changed from 2016-17 to 2015-16.
• The entire NEAC is now in the New York Region.
• The ASC and the entire SCAC are now in the West Region.

For more info on the selection process, see the FAQ page.

-Ricky Nelson


Written by Ricky Nelson

October 5, 2014 at 12:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

%d bloggers like this: