D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s 2014 Week 1 top 10

The AVCA Week 1 poll comes out on Tuesday.

My rank, (my preseason rank, AVCA preseason rank), record, key results last week
1 (3, 4). Hope 3-0 W: Wittenberg; St. Thomas; Johns Hopkins. 
2 (8, 3). Wisconsin-Stevens Point 4-0 W: Saint Benedict; Augsburg; Concordia-Moorhead.
3 (9, 1). Calvin 4-0 W: Clarkson; New Paltz St.; Roger Williams. 
4 (2, 7). Wittenberg 2-1 W: St. Thomas; Johns Hopkins. L: Hope. 
5 (5, 14). Juniata 4-0 W: Nazareth; Fredonia St.
6 (4, 5). St. Thomas 1-2 W: Johns Hopkins. L: Hope; Wittenberg. 
7 (1, 2). Emory 3-1 W: Berry; Randolph-Macon. L: DePauw.
8 (12, 21). Pacific Lutheran 4-0 W: Bethel; Puget Sound.
9 (14, 15). Eastern 4-0 W: Gallaudet; Salve Regina.
10 (16, 8). Colorado College 4-0 W: Minnesota Morris.
Dropped out: No. 6 UW-Whitewater (3-1); No. 7 Washington-St. Louis (3-1); No. 10 Trinity (Texas) (3-1).

My top five matches of the week (Sept. 1-7)
9/5 No. 16 Augsburg vs. Northwestern
9/6 Millikin vs. No. 14 Juniata
9/6 Millikin vs. Berry
9/6 Coe vs. No. 1 Calvin
9/6 No. 11 Washington-St. Louis vs. No. 7 Wittenberg

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

August 31, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “My work situation has changed. I mention it only because my time devoted to this blog will be curbed. I hope I can keep the updates timely this season.” – Ricky Nelson (August 2014)

    Maybe I don’t know the meaning of the word “curbed”? :-)

    Great job with all of the updates!!!

    So, Emory loses to Depauw, who loses to Berry, who loses to Emory (and Randolph-Macon). I would have bet a lot that Emory wouldn’t lose to Depauw. I would have bet a lot that Emory wouldn’t lose…period.

    DIIIFan

    September 2, 2014 at 9:23 am

  2. I was fortunate with my free time this week. UW Oshkosh didn’t host any events. It’ll be curbed, or at least delayed, in the weeks ahead.

    -Ricky Nelson

    Ricky Nelson

    September 2, 2014 at 9:42 am

  3. Ricky,

    Thanks for the outstanding job that you do. Can you email the list you had for tournaments on opening weekend Aug29 and 30. Trying to find a tourney for next year opening weekend. Do you have any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Kevin

    Kevin Aoki

    September 15, 2014 at 3:33 pm


Comments are closed.

