D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

37 from Central, Midwest earn AVCA Team Academic awards

The AVCA awarded a record 676 teams with its Team Academic honor for the 2013-14 season. A total of 126 Division III teams (18.6 percent of all D-III teams) earned the award.

From the AVCA release: The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

The 37 D-III teams from the Central and Midwest regions that earned the award for 2013-14:

CCIW: Elmhurst; Wheaton.
IIAC: Central*; Coe*; Dubuque*; Luther; Simpson*; Wartburg*.
Independent: Maranatha; Nebraska Wesleyan*.
MIAC: Augsburg; Bethel*; Carleton*; Macalester*; Saint Benedict; St. Thomas.
MWC: Beloit*; Cornell; Grinnell; Monmouth*.
NACC: Aurora; Dominican*; Edgewood*; Lakeland.
SLIAC: Fontbonne; Greenville*; MacMurray; Principia; Webster*.
UAA: Washington-St. Louis*.
UMAC: Martin Luther*; Minnesota Morris; Northwestern*.
WIAC: Wisconsin-Eau Claire; Wisconsin-Platteville*; Wisconsin-Stevens Point; Wisconsin-Stout.

* won the award for at least the third consecutive season.

Prior Central and Midwest AVCA Team Academic posts:
28 teams in 2012-13
26 teams in 2011-12

-Ricky Nelson



Written by Ricky Nelson

August 5, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

%d bloggers like this: