D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

8 Central, Midwest players among NCAA Woman of the Year nominees

Crown middle Sam Brueggeman, Wisconsin Lutheran outside Erin Greenfield, Wisconsin-Platteville middle Stephanie Kirchner, Lakeland libero Tess Myklebust, Wartburg setter Ramey Sieck, Northwestern setter Krista Stoltz, North Park outside Shelby Switzer, and Elmhurst middle Kaitlyn Wilks are among 446 initial nominees for the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

Of the 446 nominees, 166 competed in Division III.

From the release: The Woman of the Year award honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academics, athletics, service and leadership.

The NCAA encourages each member school to honor its top graduating female student-athletes each year by submitting their names for consideration for the Woman of the Year award.

Each conference then selects up to two women from the nominees to represent the conference. The Woman of the Year selection committee selects the top 30 honorees – 10 from each division – from the conference nominees.

From among those 30 candidates, the selection committee determines the top three in each division and announces the top nine finalists in September. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will then vote from among the finalists to determine the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year.

The top 30 honorees will be honored, and the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year winner will be announced, at the annual ceremony in Indianapolis on Sunday, Oct. 19.

-Ricky Nelson


Written by Ricky Nelson

June 21, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

%d bloggers like this: