D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

New links page has links on links (on links)

Ever wonder what links to each Division III volleyball conference and volleyball team looks like on one page? Ever wished you could click once on some magical page and get D-III volleyball info outside of the search-engine grind? The infomercial lead-in notwithstanding, I did too. Now my poor CTRL, C and V keys may need to be replaced. My neck has also had better weeks.

The All D-III teams, conferences page has links to conference women’s volleyball pages along with links to conference standings, schedules and stats, where available. Each team also has a link along with links to their rosters, schedules and stats pages, where available. Where there are missing links, teams and conferences have that information available on their sites but not on a separate page dedicated to that info. Then there are the Rusts of the world where the site transports you to the days of AOL Hometown.

Disclaimer: The way many D-III institutions organize their sites — and it drove me a little crazy — means URL manipulation in some cases will be necessary after this season to get data (roster, schedule, stats links) from the 2013 links provided, but links to the main women’s volleyball pages for the vast majority of the institutions should remain static for future reference.

It was quite an undertaking for one person, but I have free time on my hands with the whole not-having-an-SID-position thing and whatnot. It’s a nice addition to the blog that was the result of a compromise with myself. I wanted to do something more ambitious originally, but it would have cost money to complete. As you probably know, I have not made a penny off of this thing, so the idea was interesting if unfeasible.

Anyway, the new page is what I’ve been up to this week. I had to do something while I caught up on my backlog of podcasts. Keeping my tools sharp while I listened seemed like a good idea at the time. I will say I’m happy the page has been completed because I’m sure we all know that Division III is the largest in the NCAA and women’s volleyball is probably one of, if not the, largest D-III sports in terms of sponsorship.

Give it a look. And what the heck, bookmark it while you’re at it.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

October 21, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FREAKING AWESOME!!!!

    My Google search days are over! Already bookmarked!!!!

    I am worried that updating this year after year may prove troublesome. For a lot of sites, you can just bump the year but in others you’ll have to research it over again.

    Much thanks for this!

    DIIIFan

    October 22, 2013 at 7:27 am

  2. That disclaimer was a polite way of saying, “You’re crazy if you think I’m going to update every link on this page each season.” I could probably do the team and conference pages but no promises.

    My request for reports of updated links was sincere. I won’t monitor that page too often.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    October 22, 2013 at 1:42 pm


Comments are closed.

