D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s 2013 Week 7 top 10

The AVCA Week 7 poll comes out Tuesday.

My rank, (my Wk 6 rank, AVCA), record, last wk results
1 (1, 1). Calvin (24-1) L: Hope. 
2 (3, 2). Hope (25-1) W: Calvin. 
3 (2, 3). Cal Lutheran (21-1) W: Pomona-Pitzer.
4 (5, 5). St. Thomas (22-2) W: Augsburg. 
5 (4, 4). Emory (24-3) L: Washington-St. Louis; Chicago.
6 (6, 6). Elmhurst (24-4) W: Wheaton (Ill.). 
7 (7, 7). Colorado College (26-2) L: Colorado Christian (D-II).
8 (8, 10). Juniata (23-3) W: Susquehanna. L: Clarion (D-II).
9 (10, 11). Washington-St. Louis (22-5) W: Emory; NYU; Mellon.
10 (NR, 15). Augsburg (24-3) W: St. Mary’s (MN). L: St. Thomas.
Dropped out: No. 9 Eastern (24-4).

My top 5 matches of the week:
10/23 UW-Stevens Point vs. UW-Eau Claire
10/23 Dominican vs. Benedictine
10/25 Elmhurst vs. Chicago
10/26 Saint Benedict vs. Concordia-Moorhead
10/26 Coe vs. Carthage

Check out the Standout Stats page to see who has a 40- and 50-dig match this season. See the Standings, Matchups page for a look at the conference races.

Coe and Clarkson should have a decent chance of entering the top 25. UW-Stevens Point could use a boost as well.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

October 20, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Random thoughts:

    I may have to group Chicago in with Trinity as teams that get up for certain opponents but that also sleep walk against teams they should beat easily. Hard to rank these types of teams.

    Would like to know the reasoning about Calvin #1 and Hope #2. Not saying I disagree but I put more stock in a recent result then past results. Having said that…Calvin’s body of work is impressive and I still think they are the best team in the nation.

    I think Emory at #5 needs a closer inspection. Their big win was game #1 of the season against St. Thomas. Other than that they have some good wins but nothing against a Top 10 team. They also benefit from a lot of games at home (compared to other DIII teams). Losses to Chicago and Washington St. Louis would probably cause me to drop them a few spots more. Upcoming games against Juniata and Trinity (both at Emory), I believe, will show that they belong outside the Top 10.

    DIIIFan

    October 21, 2013 at 8:19 am

  2. No problem with Hope having a turn at the top. My reasoning was one team swept and the other team won in five. Calvin also handled some top mutual opponents a bit more handily.

    I think Emory at No. 5 is correct. It kind of seemed like you had a team (or teams) in mind that should be ahead of EU. Care to share?

    I’ll take the other side of those upcoming JC and TU matches. Trinity looked good on video at their tourney though. Emory was up and down at WUSTL. That meltdown at the end was interesting, but those were really young, talented teams battling. That youth can make for some crazy twists and turns sometimes.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    October 21, 2013 at 1:45 pm

  3. Challenge Accepted!

    Umm…hmm…oops.

    Upon further review, it is hard to move them back too much. I would probably have Calvin, Hope, Cal Lutheran, Colorado and St Thomas as my Top 5 (factoring in some SCAC bias on my part). It would be hard to put another team in front of Emory at this time.

    I do wish the JC and TU matches were not at Emory. At the very least I see TU taking that match. It is interesting (although not surprising, I guess) to see how really good teams can struggle on the road.

    In other news, I noticed on the AVCA web site that Eastern doesn’t have their correct schedule up for this past weekend. So, maybe those two losses didn’t occur…maybe it was all a dream.

    DIIIFan

    October 21, 2013 at 3:10 pm

  4. […] vote doesn’t count, but I was one who still had Calvin on top this week. I understand the urge to anoint Hope, but the Dutch and Knights split their regular season series […]


Comments are closed.

