D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s 2013 Week 3 top 10

The AVCA Week 3 poll comes out Tuesday.

My rank, (my Wk 2 rank, AVCA), record, last wk results
1 (1, 1). Calvin (14-0) W: Hope. 
2 (4, 5). Cal Lutheran (11-1) W: Whittier. 
3 (2, 2). Hope (14-1) L: Calvin. 
4 (5, 4). Emory (14-1) W: Wellesley. 
5 (6, 3). St. Thomas (11-1) W: Augsburg. 
6 (7, 8). Juniata (12-0) W: Eastern. 
7 (8, 6). Elmhurst (13-1) W: Christopher Newport. 
8 (9, 7). Mount Union (16-0) W: Washington and Lee. 
9 (3, 10). Saint Benedict (12-1) L: Augsburg.
10 (10, 9). Washington-St. Louis (9-3) Idle.
Dropped out: [None].

My top 5 matches of the week:
9/25 UW-Whitewater vs. UW-Stevens Point
9/27 Wartburg vs. Edgewood
9/28 UW-Whitewater vs. Juniata
9/28 Elmhurst vs. Washington-St. Louis
9/28 Cornell vs. Emory

Check out the Standout Stats, Last Team Standing, and Standings, Matchups pages too.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

September 22, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For your consideration…I think I would drop out St Benedict (or more likely Washington-St. Louis) and bring in Colorado College (15-0). They did beat Augsburg in a tough 5 set match (albeit at home) earlier in the year. Augsburg swept St. Benedict this past week. Not exactly apples-to-apples but I think a perfect CC needs some Top 10 love.

    DIIIFan

    September 23, 2013 at 8:35 am

  2. No arguments from me. I struggled with my 9-11 spots. No surprise that those were the three teams I struggled with. I’m confident that most of the 48 voters will agree with you and not me. I’m still not certain that I disagree with you.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    September 23, 2013 at 1:15 pm

  3. By the way, love your site! The amount of work you put in for that region of the country is impressive. Love all of the links to the team’s pages and seeing all of the Top 25 scores.

    DIIIFan

    September 23, 2013 at 1:37 pm

  4. Thank you! I like volleyball, numbers and words quite a bit. And it keeps my tools sharp while I await my start in sports information. Win-win.

    I’m just happy that there are people who find it useful. To be honest I’d probably do it if there were zero page views per day. The icing is that I’ve met several nice people through this little thing.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    September 23, 2013 at 1:50 pm

  5. […] Can’t say I disagree with the the top of the 48-voter collective. If you forgot, have a look at my Week 3 top 10. […]


Comments are closed.

