D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s D-III women’s volleyball projected field of 64

The following are my projections for the teams that will be selected to play in the 2012 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Tournament. Stress the word “projections.”

The selection committee and I have agreed at a steady rate over the years. I projected 19-of-22 at-large teams in 2011, 19-of-21 in 2010, 19-of-22 in 2009, and 20-of-23 in 2008. One of these years the committee will see it my way.

The actual field of 64 will be announced through an online selection show that is scheduled to begin Monday at 11 a.m. (EST). Link to the selection show at the NCAA D-III women’s volleyball page. Refresh that NCAA page with the rest of us.

See this season’s 42 Pool A teams on the Links to all Tourneys (2012) page.

Projected Pool B teams (2):
Clarkson
Skidmore

Projected Pool C teams (20):
Bowdoin
Carthage (New Paltz)
Chapman
Chicago
Concordia-Moorhead (Trinity-TX)
Connecticut College
Dominican
Heidelberg
Hope
La Verne
Ohio Northern
Otterbein
Puget Sound
Randolph-Macon
Saint Benedict
Springfield
Washington-St. Louis
Wellesley (Southwestern)
Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Wisconsin-Whitewater

The last handful of projected teams were a nightmare. It would have been easier with 24 Pool C bids. I have thoughts on who will host and where teams will play in terms of moving across regions and flights. But the exercise is futile without knowing which teams submitted hosting bids.

I will not be doing my weekly top 10 as a separate post like I usually do on Sundays. Instead, here is the order of my top 10 heading into regionals: Calvin, Wittenberg, Hope, Emory, Washington-St. Louis, St. Thomas, Christopher Newport, Cal Lutheran, Elmhurst, Mount Union. The AVCA Week 10 poll will come out on Tuesday.

The Standout Stats page is updated like it is every evening. The Standings/Matchups page is done for the season. The Last Team Standing page has been done for weeks.

Need a postseason refresher? See the FAQ page. Need help on your SID staff? See the About Me page.

I will create Guides for any regional that features a Central and/or Midwest region team. Start looking for the Regional Guides on Tuesday. Not sure what I’m talking about? See these examples from past years:
2011 Concordia-Moorhead Regional Guide
2011 Calvin Regional Guide
2011 Washington-St. Louis Regional Guide
2010 Carthage Regional Guide
2010 St. Thomas Regional Guide
2010 Wittenberg Regional Guide
2009 UW Oshkosh Regional Guide
2009 Washington Regional Guide
2009 Hope Regional Guide

I also do a yearly Nationals Guide. More on that later.

As always, tell me where I went wrong. We had a good dialog last season. I hope to again.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

November 4, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How could you select Carthage over Wisconsin-Platteville when Platteville beat them head to head on October 13 th 3-0. Domincan also is over rated, Cornell handled them easily 3-0. Also DePauw is more deserving then either Ohio Northern or Heidleberg. They placed second in conference only to Wittenberg.

    Kevin

    November 4, 2012 at 6:00 pm

  2. You’re right that Platteville has certain things in its favor. But on the whole, Carthage has a better resume than UWP. I think the NCAA’s Midwest regional rankings are correct in having the Lady Reds higher than the Pioneers.

    It’s a slippery slope when you narrow the perspective to one criterion of the many criteria. There are good and bad sides to Carthage’s and Platteville’s selection profile. It’s neither here nor there, but I put Carthage in the field very late in my projections. The Lady Reds are by no means a lock.

    I like that you have strong opinions about some teams. I don’t agree with them necessarily. I do think DePauw is very, very good though. I watched DePauw give Otterbein all it could handle.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    November 4, 2012 at 10:01 pm

  3. Ricky,

    Depauw and Otterbein did not play this year. In fact, they haven’t played at least for the last six years.

    Anonymous

    November 5, 2012 at 8:15 am

  4. Ricky,

    I did see where Heidleberg beat Depauw 3-0 (25-19, 25-18, 28-26) the last week of the season.

    Anonymous

    November 5, 2012 at 8:25 am

  5. You’re right. It was the Mount/DePauw match that I was thinking of.
    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    November 5, 2012 at 10:35 am

  6. […] will update this space with my reactions. Please share yours. I will update my projections post to reflect the actual […]

  7. […] weeks when the Bears were unanimous, but the No. 1 team heading into regionals is much less clear. I had Calvin. The AVCA Week 10 poll has Calvin as well, but the Knights have company in the eyes of some voters. […]


Comments are closed.

