D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Regional rankings are here!

The NCAA regional committees have published their initial regional rankings. I wanted to post the link first. My reaction may does follow on this post. What are your takes?

This was my pass at what I thought the rankings would be.

For those looking for tonight’s usual regional post, it’s directly below this one.

For those too impatient, here’s how the official rankings look in our neck of the woods. In-region record is followed by overall record.

Central
1. St. Thomas 24-0 28-1
2. Washington-St. Louis 18-1 24-2
3. Wartburg 21-3 21-4
4. Saint Benedict 21-4 21-4
5. Northwestern 17-8 17-8
6. Bethel 16-10 17-10
7. Concordia-Moorhead 8-7 9-8
8. Carleton 15-6 16-6

Midwest
1. UW-Whitewater 19-6 19-9
2. Elmhurst 14-5 20-7
3. Chicago 17-5 20-6
4. UW-Stevens Point 18-5 19-5
5. Dominican 20-6 20-6
6. Millikin 13-4 19-6
7. UW-Eau Claire 17-8 17-9
8. UW-Platteville 17-6 20-8

My impressions:
• The Central PDF is from November 2011. Not much help.
• I like the first three in the Central.
• How many times does a team have to beat another to be ranked ahead of that team? Northwestern beat Saint Benedict twice. Northwestern split with UW-Eau Claire. Saint Benedict lost to UW-Eau Claire. Say what you will about SOS, but one team plays in the MIAC, the other plays in the UMAC.
• No. 6 Bethel has beaten two ranked teams. No. 8 Carleton has beaten one ranked team, but that team is Bethel. Carleton has a better regional record than Bethel. Bethel undoubtedly has a better SOS, but head-to-head went to Carleton. Seems like a decent tiebreaker to me.
• Concordia-Moorhead has played a fantastic schedule. However, Concordia has one win over a ranked team – Bethel – to show for it. Augsburg’s schedule is no slouch. The Auggies have beaten three ranked teams – Northwestern, UW-Stevens Point and UW-Platteville. Augsburg also has a better regional record than Concordia. Better wins, better record. It must be noted that Augsburg lost to Bethel, but Concordia lost to Stevens Point so the point is tenuous. I’m not sure the committee got this one correct.

• I’m on board with the first five in the Midwest.
• No. 6 Millikin has played three in-region matches against ranked teams. The Big Blue are 0-3. Unranked Carthage has played nine in-region matches against ranked teams. The Lady Reds are 3-6. Another factor in Carthage’s favor is the little fact that it beat Millikin. Millikin has a slight edge in SOS (.575 to .568). Of course Millikin is ahead of Carthage. Why not? Millikin is also ahead of UW-Eau Claire and UW-Platteville. I’m not seeing it.
• I like UW-Whitewater ahead of Elmhurst and UW-Eau Claire ahead of UW-Platteville. Hindsight says the committee was correct and I was incorrect on that part of it. I had Whitewater No. 1 but switched it late in the process.

• My eyebrows didn’t raise much at the other regions’ rankings. I thought Eastern would have been ahead of Johns Hopkins in the Mid-Atlantic and maybe Otterbein would have been ahead of Mount Union in the Great Lakes. Other than that nothing surprised me. Those example don’t even surprise me that much.

• The first rankings are a decent time to have teams in what I think are imaginative orders. If it’s like years past, “once ranked, always ranked” is in play. That means there are more ranked opponents to use for comparison in future rankings. That’s not a bad thing. What’s most important is that the correct teams are selected to the NCAA tournament. If today was selection day, I’m not sure that the teams in the Central and Midwest are in the correct order. But there’s time for that.
• There’s also a chance that my facts are wrong. Wouldn’t be the first or last time. My intentions are pure. Please let me know if you see a mistake in my rationales.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

October 18, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] The rankings are out. And I had a few comments. […]

  2. Wash u hasn’t lost any in region matches.

    Anonymous

    October 19, 2012 at 10:21 am

  3. Chicago was a regional match for Washington-St. Louis. Same administrative region and same conference – either one of which would make it in-region.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    October 19, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  4. […] opinions: • What I had to say about Saint Benedict/Northwestern and Augsburg/Concordia-Moorhead last week still stands. The Cobbers swept Augsburg this week, but I still think Augsburg’s resume was […]


Comments are closed.

