D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Ricky Nelson’s 2012 Week 2 top 10

Compiling my Week 1 top 10 was easy. Week 2 was tricky due to the upsets. I feel pretty good about my top eight. Quibble with the order if you’d like. Then there are about seven teams that I’d have no problem putting at Nos. 9 and 10. This week I chose Otterbein and Whitewater.

The AVCA Week 2 poll comes out Tuesday.

My rank, (my Week 1 rank, AVCA Week 1 rank), team, noteworthy results this week
1 (1, 5). Wittenberg 6-0 W: Christopher Newport, Juniata, Puget Sound
2 (2, 1T). Washington-St. Louis 10-0 W: Elmhurst, UW-Whitewater, Otterbein, Concordia-Moorhead
3 (3, 6). Cal Lutheran 6-0 W: Hardin-Simmons
4 (5, 8). Hope 8-0 W: Chicago
5 (4, 1T). Christopher Newport 7-1 W: Juniata, Puget Sound, Salisbury; L: Wittenberg
6 (7, 3). Calvin 7-0
7 (6, 4). Emory 8-1 W: St. Thomas; L: Lee in 5
8 (9, 7). St. Thomas 7-1 L: Emory in 5
9 (NR, 23). Otterbein 6-3 W: Elmhurst, UW-Whitewater, Concordia-Moorhead; L: Washington-St. Louis
10 (NR, 12). UW-Whitewater 6-2 W: Elmhurst, Concordia-Moorhead; L: Washington-St. Louis, Otterbein

Dropped out: No. 8 Elmhurst (5-3); No. 10 Chicago (6-2).

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

September 10, 2012 at 1:18 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will you be sneaking over to the Lawrence U. matches tomorrow night? Tough week of competition for SNC.

    Joe guido

    September 10, 2012 at 1:24 pm

  2. I would like to but I can’t because of the start times. Curious to see whether St. Norbert and UW-Stevens Point can get a ball to the floor against each other. Agreed that SNC has a crazy week ahead. Difficult and voluminous.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    September 10, 2012 at 2:46 pm

  3. […] My Week 2 rankings vary from the poll slightly, but I think the pollsters have a solid top 10 once again. I take issue with CNU getting a vote for No. 1, but it is what it is. I’m also a bit confused about Chicago being ahead of Elmhurst since EC beat UC this season and both have very respectable losses. […]


Comments are closed.

