D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

2011 NCAA field taking shape

After an initial pass at my yearly mostly-decent-but-never-totally-correct at-large projections, my feeling is that the two Pool B teams have been decided, and 14 of the 20 Pool C bids have been accounted for already. I also have a good hunch on six projected regional hosts.

I’m awaiting the NESCAC and NEWMAC Sunday finals (and the three other Sunday finals) before I go any further with the number crunching. One thing’s for sure. Bubble teams – you know who you are – should be rooting for UMass Boston in the LEC final on Sunday.

I should have my at-large projections posted by 4 p.m. on Sunday. In the interim I’m prepping the online Regional Guides, which I’ll again provide for any regional that features a Midwest or Central region team. If you have not seen my Regional Guides, here’s an example. Here’s another. And another.

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

November 6, 2011 at 12:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricky,

    Pacific Lutheran went 11-2 and Puget Sound went 7-6 in their last 13 conference matches. Puget Sound suffered a bad defeat on Friday to George Fox so in the final conference standings PLU was 13-3(2nd) and Puget Sound was 3 matches behind at 10-6(3rd). I cannot see Puget Sound making over PLU. What are your thoughts?

    Beth

    November 6, 2011 at 8:06 am

  2. It’s one of the rankings that I’m having some trouble resolving. PLU has been behind UPS and Chapman in every ranking. PLU’s strength of schedule is among the lowest for a ranked team in the country. UPS’s SOS isn’t great either, but the Loggers still own the head-to-head over PLU. My feeling is that the national committee still has UPS ahead of PLU because of HTH and UPS’s two wins in California.

    But I’ve been known to be wrong before. Good luck.
    -Ricky

    uwoshvball

    November 6, 2011 at 11:51 am


Comments are closed.

