D III Women's Volleyball

A source for NCAA Division III women's volleyball info and opinion, with a focus on the Midwest and Central regions

Taking a stab at the first regional rankings

I do not have the OWP and OOWP numbers (strength of schedule) for any teams, so these projections are mere conjecture. I wish I had more time to track that info. But missing one major criterion isn’t going to stop me from giving the exercise a go.

You’d think I’d expand this slice of the web to include SOS numbers, but I prefer double checking the NCAA numbers rather than doing the insane amount of work that SOS numbers require. As much as I love daunting long-range projects (high five to my fellow nerds), I’ve done SOS numbers in past years, and you don’t know until you know what that involves one person to gather that data from secondary sources. Trust me, you don’t want to know.

What I do have is regional records, records against common opponents, records against ranked teams (assuming I get most or all of the teams correct), head-to-head results, a rough sense of strength of schedule, etc. However, I could not access the TES site to confirm a few questionable in-region matches.

With that admission and probably unnecessary exposition written, here’s my take on the first regional rankings for the Central and Midwest regions. Let me know whether you agree or disagree. Also point out any mistakes you find. The NCAA will release its version on Wednesday.

Central Region
Team, overall record, regional record
1. Washington 24-1 15-1
2. Concordia-Moorhead 17-3 14-3
3. St. Thomas 24-3 23-3
4. Northwestern 21-2 21-2
5. Bethel 19-6 18-6
6. Coe 26-2 23-2
7. Nebraska Wesleyan 12-9 8-4
8. Wartburg 19-8 16-8
Just missed: St. Scholastica (18-6 18-6), Saint Benedict (15-9 14-7), Cornell (19-5 15-5).

Midwest Region
Team, overall record, regional record
1. Carthage 22-5 19-3
2. Chicago 23-3 20-3
3. Elmhurst 20-4 18-4
4. UW-Stevens Point 18-6 18-6
5. UW-Whitewater 19-6 15-5
6. UW-Platteville 18-9 15-7
7. Dominican 23-4 20-4
8. UW-Eau Claire 12-11 12-11
Just missed: St. Norbert (18-5 18-4), UW Oshkosh (16-12 12-11), Millikin (18-9 10-6).

-Ricky Nelson

Written by Ricky Nelson

October 17, 2011 at 1:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Didn’t they decide to move Wash U out of the Central and in to the Midwest. I thought that was official after last season.

    Anonymous

    October 17, 2011 at 4:35 pm

  2. You could be correct, but according to the 2011 Pre-Championship Manual (Handbook), WU is in the Central.

    http://www.ncaa.org/wps/wcm/connect/4c88d70048a3def591f6b74c8af46e6f/Pre-championship_Manual.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=4c88d70048a3def591f6b74c8af46e6f

    -Ricky

    uwoshvball

    October 17, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  3. any thoughts on where the south region will play?

    Anonymous

    October 18, 2011 at 4:56 pm

  4. In a perfect world it would be Atlanta. But with every regional getting eight teams, I think the NCAA will be forced to make geographical selections in the South and West. It all depends on where the clusters are in those two regions.

    My guess is that there will be a goal of five, maybe six flights for the country (South and West for all intents and purposes). If the NCAA can fill out the West with limited flights, I think Emory will/should host. But with eight teams coming from disparate clusters in the West (SoCal, Pacific Northwest), I’m not sure Atlanta will be the host city. If not Emory, I’m assuming CNU gets the nod. If it comes down to one or two flights to Virginia or Texas, or three to Georgia, Virginia or Texas makes fiscal sense. Again depending on the situation in the West, which is going to require at least a few flights.

    It’s definitely a story line to follow. We’ll get a better sense tomorrow after the first regional rankings.

    -Ricky Nelson

    uwoshvball

    October 18, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  5. […] regional rankings. With any luck the rankings will be out by the time I return. I had a tough time ranking the Central and the Midwest this week without the use of strength of schedule figures or five other opinions to vet, so […]

  6. […] are my hunch-based projections again. I’m posting this without digging into the numbers too much. I’ll have a reaction […]

  7. […] guessing that UW-Eau Claire will make the second rankings, and Dominican may make it as well. I thought both would be in the first time […]


Comments are closed.

